Bob Dylan's Beard

Things got weird. I started growing Bob Dylan's Beard.

In remembrance of them

Listening to the latest Weezer release, the Red Album, earlier today left me a little dissapointed, but fortunately I ran across a piece of nostalgia.  Unfortunately I don’t even remember what blog it was or how I came across it, but someone recently posted an acoustic version of “Pink Triangle,” a version that reminded me that I had it on a burned cd.  Hearing this song again is like a tall drink of water when you’re dying of thirst.  It reminded me of how much I love “old” Weezer and how Weezer just…well…isn’t and won’t be “old” Weezer ever again. Maybe that’s ok.

Only recently have I come to grips with this fact. Others have come to this conclusion much earlier than I. Really I’ve known it for a long time, but haven’t wanted to really believe it. I have now given in to the belief…and I’m ok with it.  Let me have my Blue/Pinkerton Weezer and if Weezer can come out with a gem here or there so be it. Back before the Green album came out I was sad for the fact that I thought Weezer would never make another album and would never tour again. Fortunately I have been able to see them a couple times, which is a couple times more than I ever thought I would back then (although I still regret the fact that I missed the Weezer/Tenacious D/Jimmy Eat World tour) and they’ve played the old stuff.  So today, not in mourning, but rather in honor and remebrance of a dear friend, I give you these gems.  Acoustic beauties from the late-90’s…and a freebie from the few im promptu songs Rivers Cuomo and Matt Sharp played together in February 2004.

No One Else

El Scorcho

The Good Life

Pink Triangle

Matt Sharp and Rivers Cuomo – Undone (The Sweater Song)

June 10, 2008 Posted by | weezer | , , , | Leave a comment