Bob Dylan's Beard

Things got weird. I started growing Bob Dylan's Beard.

New Weezer or Something to Smile About

Just wanted to shoot this out quick.  Did Rivers just become Brian Wilson?  I can’t believe how many tempo changes there are in this song, but on first listen I think it’s the best Weezer song post-Pinkerton.  This song makes me smile thinking about “the good life.”  It also sounds like a classic rock epic…and it’s been awhile since I’ve heard once of those.  Makes me really wish they’d finish “Songs from the Black Hole.”

Even the second song here has, I think, the first bridge since the Blue Album.  More smiles.

Weezer – The Greatest Man That Ever Lived (Variations on a Shaker Hymn)

Weezer – Everybody Get Dangerous

May 15, 2008 - Posted by | weezer | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. um. at the risk of losing our, now, 8 year long friendship… i don’t think i like it (shaker)!! i think it sounds like rivers couldn’t come up with a good single, but came up with about 6 hooks that he may have been able to make into singles, couldn’t get any of them to turn into anything and jammed them into one song with an old hymn i like as a tie in.

    Comment by Nicole Hawthorne | May 15, 2008 | Reply

  2. haha, i was thinking about that side of it too. It’s kinda like a medley, but I like it. Part of it is that I like that parts of it REALLY sound like old Weezer…while others sound like Beach Boys, Scissor Sisters, Shaker Tabernacle Choir, Limp Bizkit(ok, not so glad about that part), but parts at the end really sound like old Weezer. I kinda wanna get rid of the first two minutes…but yeah, I like it, but I totally see your side. I was thinking the same.

    Comment by stburly | May 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

